SC is the International Conference for
 High Performnance Computing, Networking, Storage and Analysis

• An Interview with Tech Program Chair, William Gropp• Overview• Papers• Tutorials• Masterworks• Panels• Posters• Workshops• Birds-of-a-Feather• Doctoral Showcase• Awards• ACM Gordon Bell Prize • Disruptive Technologies• SC09 Challenges• Thrust Areas• Plenary Speakers


ACM Gordon Bell Prize

The Gordon Bell Prize is awarded each year to recognize outstanding achievement in HPC. Now administered by the ACM, financial support of the $10,000 award is provided by Gordon Bell, a pioneer in high performance and parallel computing. The purpose of the award is to track the progress over time of parallel computing, with particular emphasis on rewarding innovation in applying HPC to applications in science. Gordon Bell prizes have been awarded every year since 1987. Prizes may be awarded for peak performance as well as special achievements in scalability, time-to-solution on important science and engineering problems, and low price/performance. Finalists will present their results in a technical session during the conference.

Read more about the ACM gordon Bell Prize

Submissions open on March 16th, 2009. Visit to make a submission.


IEEE Seymour Cray and Sidney Fernbach Awards

The Seymour Cray Computer Science and Engineering Award recognizes innovative contributions to HPC systems that best exemplify the creative spirit of Seymour Cray. The Sidney Fernbach Memorial Award honors innovative uses of HPC in problem solving. Sponsored by IEEE Computer Society, these prestigious honors are presented during special sessions held during the conference.


ACM - IEEE CS Ken Kennedy Award

The new Ken Kennedy Award recognizes substantial contributions to programmability and productivity in computing and substantial community service or mentoring contributions. The award honors the remarkable research, service, and mentoring contributions of the late Ken Kennedy. It includes a $5,000 honorarium, and the first presentation of this award will be at SC09.


   Sponsors    ACM    IEEE