SC is the International Conference for
 High Performnance Computing, Networking, Storage and Analysis

• An Interview with Tech Program Chair, William Gropp• Overview• Papers• Tutorials• Masterworks• Panels• Posters• Workshops• Birds-of-a-Feather• Doctoral Showcase• Awards• Disruptive Technologies• SC09 Challenges• Thrust Areas• Plenary Speakers


The SC09 Technical Papers program received 261 high quality submissions this year covering a variety of advanced research topics in HPC, spanning six areas---Applications, Architecture/Networks, Grids/Clouds, Performance, Storage, and Systems Software. After an extremely rigorous peer review process, in which all the papers were subject to at least 4 careful reviews, a two-day face-to-face committee meeting was held on June 1-2 in Portland, physically attended by over 100 technical paper committee members to discuss each and every paper and finalize the selections. The quality of the paper being exceptionally high this year sometimes caused extensive but civil debates, as SC strives to further improve its reputation as the top HPC conference. At the conclusion of the meeting, 59 papers were accepted for presentation, covering hot topics of today such as Multicore/GPUs/Storage/Sustainability/Clouds, leading to exascale era of the future, resulting in one of the most exciting papers program in the history of SC.

Please see the link at the top of this page for a full list of Technical Papers and their schedule.

Amongst the excellent sets of work, three outstanding papers were selected as the “Best Paper Finalists”, and four papers as the “Best Student Paper Finalists”:

Best Paper Finalists

  • David E. Shaw et. al. “Millisecond-Scale Molecular Dynamics Simulation on Anton”
  • Ilya Lashuk et. al. “A Massively Parallel Adaptive Fast-Multipole Method on Heterogeneous Architectures”
  • John Bent et. al. “PLFS: A Checkpoint Filesystem for Parallel Applications”

Best Student Paper Finalists

  • David Tarjan et. al. “Increasing Memory Latency Tolerance for SIMD Cores”
  • Qian Zhu et. al. “Supporting Fault-Tolerance for Time-Critical Events in Distributed Environments”
  • David M. Kunzman et. al. “Toward a Framework for Abstracting Accelerators in Parallel Applications: Experience with Cell”
  • Tanzima Z Islam et. al., “FALCON: A System for Reliable Checkpoint Recovery in Shared Grid Environments”

The Best Paper and the Best Student Paper awards, along with other technical program awards will be announced at the conference awards ceremony (invitation only) midday on Thursday.

Best Paper Award Winners Announced!

The Best Paper winner is the David E. Shaw et. al. "Millisecond-Scale Molecular Dynamics Simulation on Anton", and the Best Student Paper winner is the David Tarjan et. al. "Increasing Memory Latency Tolerance for SIMD Cores".


   Sponsors    ACM    IEEE